Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Review Day: Soul Screamer Series

It's Review Day!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Soul Screamer series by Rachel Vincent is tied with the Odd Thomas series for my favorite series/novels so far. Who knows if I'll ever have a favorite... or if something will top these. I highly doubt it... maybe?

I can't get enough of these books! They are absolutely outstanding novels that appeal to just about everyone (sorry boys.. you might get a tiny bit bored in some of them...). With just enough fantasy/Sci-Fi, romance, comedy, suspense, thrill, mystery and friendship these novels quickly gained my praise and will forever be among my favorites. I highly recommend all of these novels to anyone who wants an amazing series of YA novels.

There are five novels in the series and two prequel novellas. Each one takes you on an incredible journey through the life and *death* of a group of teens and their secrets. All descriptions are from Rachel Vincent's website. The ratings are my own. Why didn't I write my own reviews? I tried! But they contained way too many spoilers... I just love these books too much!

5 stars to full length novels
5 stars to both novellas

(prequel to Book 1) My Soul to Lose - Kaylee Cavanaugh's trip to the mall ends with a brutal panic attack and a brainscrambling shriek she can't stop. Her secret fear is exposed. It's the worst day of her life. Until she wakes up in the psychiatric unit. But the hospital isn't a safe place for Kaylee, and getting out won't be easy because everyone thinks she's crazy. Everyone except Lydia, who has a secret of her own...

Book 1: My Soul to Take - She doesn't see dead people, but...She senses when someone near her is about to die. And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally. Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about the need to scream than she does. And when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason, only Kaylee knows who'll be next...

Book 2: My Soul to Save - The last thing Kaylee needs right now is to be skipping school, breaking her dad’s ironclad curfew and putting her boyfriend’s loyalty to the test. But starry-eyed teens are trading their souls for a flickering lifetime of fame and fortune in exchange for eternity in the Netherworld—a consequence they can’t possibly understand. Kaylee can’t let that happen, even if trying to save their souls means putting her own at risk...

Book 3: My Soul to Keep - Kaylee has one addiction: her very hot, very popular boyfriend, Nash. A banshee like Kaylee, Nash understands her like no one else. Nothing can come between them. Until something does. Demon’s breath. No, not the toothpaste-challenged kind. The Netherworld kind. The kind that really can kill you. Somehow, the super-addictive substance has made its way to the human world. But how? Kaylee and Nash have to cut off the source and protect their friends—one of whom is already hooked. And when the epidemic hits too close to home, Kaylee will have to risk everything to save those she loves.

Book 4: My Soul to Steal - Trying to work things out with Nash—her maybe boyfriend—is hard enough for Kaylee Cavanaugh. She can’t just pretend nothing happened. But “complicated” doesn’t even begin to describe their relationship when his ex-girlfriend transfers to their school, determined to take Nash back. See, Sabine isn’t just an ordinary girl. She’s a mara, the living personification of a nightmare. She can read people’s fears—and craft them into nightmares while her victims sleep. Feeding from human fear is how she survives. And Sabine isn’t above scaring Kaylee and the entire school to death to get whatever—and whoever—she wants.

(prequel to Book 4 and 5): Reaper - Tod Hudson was a typical teenager. He liked girls, sports, food, and tolerated his younger brother, Nash. In fact, he had his whole life in front of him—and due to his bean sidhe heritage, it should have been a very long life indeed. All of that changed in one horrible moment and suddenly Tod had to make a choice. Life... Death... or something Between....

Book 5: If I Die - Everyone else is talking about Eastlake High’s gorgeous new math teacher, Mr. Beck, but Kaylee Cavanaugh has bigger things on her mind. Kaylee’s a banshee—her scream is a portent of death. But the next scream might hit too close to home. Kaylee’s borrowed lifeline has almost run out. Yeah—it’s a shock to her, too. So to distract herself from her own problems, Kaylee is determined to defend her school against the latest supernatural threat. That hot new teacher is really an incubus, who feeds from the desire of unsuspecting students. The only girls immune to his lure are Kaylee and Sabine, her boyfriend’s delinquent ex-girlfriend. Now the unlikely allies have to get rid of Mr. Beck…before he discovers they aren’t quite human either. But Kaylee’s running out of time, and those who love her will do anything to save her life.

Now, I didn't read them in this order. I read Reaper first, then Take, Save, Lose, Keep, Steal. The order above is the official order that Rachel Vincent intended them to be read in. I recommend reading them in the actual order. It will really help make the most sense of the characters. Although I loved reading them in the order I did. Especially because I got most of them free! I haven't read book 5 yet, so please please please don't spoil it if you have!

If you would like to borrow any of these via Kindle Lending, just ask. I just don't have Book 5 yet.. so don't ask for that one... Does anyone else have it?!? Pretty please can I borrow it!? Happy Reading!

No comments: